dmpl home

SEARCH OUR CATALOG

corner
searchimage

 

Home > Search > Databases > General Book Magazine and Newspaper Databases
 

General Book, Magazine and Newspaper Databases

General Book, Magazine and Newspaper Databases

Des Moines Register
Full-text newspaper articles, current from 1999, for you to read and print. Some other Iowa newspapers and popular magazine titles are also included. If you are doing research using the Des Moines Register, you will also want to consult the library's
Newspaper and Obituary Indexes.
Go to Des Moines Register Database

EBSCO Host
There are many databases inside EBSCO Host. The MasterFile Premiere is great for general research, since it covers 1,730 magazines and even more books with full-text for you to read and print. There are also academic databases, health databases, newspaper, business, homework help, and even the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia. All online at a click.
Go to EBSCO Host Database

EBSCO Host Espanol

EBSCO Host offered in Spanish.
Go to EBSCO Host Espanol

EBSCO Student Research Center
This homework help database makes it easy for students to search by topic to find the most useful information, magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc. There is plenty of full-text for reading and printing. Geared especially for Grades 6-12.
Go to EBSCO Student Research Center

eLibrary (Electric Library)
eLibrary has general articles and is especially good for homework help. You can choose your search by reading level, or choose to search in Spanish. Choose newspapers, magazines, books, maps, pictures, audio, video or transcripts. There are dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesaurus, almanac, and atlas for reference and research.
Go to eLibrary (Electric Library)

First Search
FirstSearch is many things. First, it is like the biggest library catalog in the world. There are over 90 million books, movies, music and more in this catalog. If it exists in the world, it's in FirstSearch, and it will tell you who owns the item. FirstSearch also grants access to scholarly databases, business databases, government databases, medical databases, an encyclopedia and almanacs. Get a librarian's help if you need it, because 90 million of anything is a lot to look through!
For Use At Home: Go to FirstSearch
For In-Library Use Only: Go to FirstSearch