Who We Are

Des Moines Public Library Foundation

The Des Moines Public Library (DMPL) Foundation supports and enriches the capabilities, resources, and services of the Des Moines Public Library system. The DMPL Foundation was created as a 501(c)(3) foundation in 1998.  The mission of the Foundation is to raise funds and advocate for the Des Moines Public Library system. The DMPL Foundation has one full-time executive director and one half-time administrative assistant. The DMPL Foundation has a volunteer board of directors.

Our donors are of all ages (as young as six) and live throughout Central Iowa. One half of our donations are gifts of $100 or less. Every gift is important, no matter the size.

With the 11-year capital campaign, Creating New Destinations, the Foundation raised $21 million dollars to contribute one-half of the cost to build the new Central Library and to remodel each of the five neighborhood branches.  During the last two years, the Foundation contributed $50,000 to pay for one-half the expense of the Library’s new strategic plan.

This past year, the Library Foundation gave $10,000 to the Library for the development of the new “seventh location”, not a building, but a new Virtual Library. The new website at dmpl.org is open seven days a week, twenty-four hours a day offering free e-books and e-magazines, electronic encyclopedias, test preparation guides, and a variety of new databases. Mobile-friendly, the Virtual Library can be used on all types of devices - computers, laptops, tablets, and phones.

Each year, the DMPL Foundation raises funds from generous individuals, businesses, and foundations to donate to the Library for the AViD (Authors Visiting in Des Moines) series and the Summer Reading & School Readiness program. These programs would not be possible without donor support. 

Library Foundation Board of Directors

Tim HickmanPresident: Tim Hickman
Dave WatsonVice President: Dawn Taylor
Dawn TaylorTreasurer: Dave Watson
Jan KaiserCo-Secretary: Jan Kaiser
Stephanie DeVolderCo-Secretary: Stephanie DeVolder
Ellen YeePast President: Ellen Yee

Belinda Alexander – Wells Fargo
Alex Duong - Mediacom
Deidre Fudge - Community Leader
Michele Guinn - Wells Fargo
Steve Jayne - Attorney in Private Practice
Sasha Kamper - Principal Global Investors
Tracy Lewis - PurFoods
Cory McAnelly – Principal
Trevor Meers - Meredith Corporation
Paul Melde - KUDER, Inc.
Brandon Paulsen - The Next Chapter
Mark Siebert - Simpson College
Craig Sieverding - Davis Brown Law Firm
Rachel Stauffer - The Swanson Group/Morgan Stanley
Martha Stephenson - Community Leader
Kathie Swift - Swift Solutions
Wes Graham - President, DMPL Board of Trustees
Sue Woody – Library Executive Director

Foundation Executive Director: Dory Briles

Past Board Members

Thank you to the following individuals who gave of their time, talent, and resources in service to the Des Moines Public Library Foundation Board of Directors. Their service enriched the Des Moines Public Library and enhanced the quality of life in our community.

Saul Amdursky
Ann Anderson
Julie Anderson
Ray Bening
Connie Boesen
Sue Rutledge Brenton
Shelley Brody
David L. Brown
Gayle Butler
Lynda Butler
Wendy Carlson
George Carpenter
Angie Chatman
Laura Castro de Cortes
Christine Carroll Cownie
Gil Cranberg
Judy McCoy Davis
Douglas Dorner, M.D.
Tom E. Drake
Tom R. Drake
Jacqueline Easley
Rich Eychaner
Barbara Gartner
Susan Genalo
Travis Gjoraas
Ralph Gross
Kent Herink
Mark L. Hill
Denise Holck
Ellen Hubbell
Cara Carter Hulick
Beth Hummels
Laura Isenstein
Fritz James
Karla Jeffries
Teree Caldwell Johnson
Joseph Jones
Norbert Kaut
Emy Kelly
Mary Kelly
Joe LeValley
Arnold E. Levine
Ellen Look
Richard Lozier
Cyril Mandelbaum
Elvin McDonald
Catherine McGarvey
Susan J. McGinness
Tom McKlveen
Stephen M. Morain
Christina Fernandez Morrow
Justine M. Morton
Elizabeth Nelson
Gerry Neugent
Tam Nguyen
Cynthia O’Brien
Craig Olson
Eliza Ovrom
Alfredo Parrish
Susan Patterson Plank
Sally Pederson
Peter Percival
Rita Perea
Franci Phelan
Michael Reagen
Kay Riley
Alison Ruan
Kay K. Runge
Patrick Sabine
Peter Sand
Thomas Shippee
William Scales
Tom Swartwood
Kevin Techau
Deborah Tharnish
Jule Thorsen
Wicker Van Orsdel
Susan Voss
Kim Walker
Fritz Weitz
Scott Wilgenbusch
James H. Windsor IV